Carabao Cup

Carabao Cup Winners: A Complete List of EFL League Cup Champions, Including Liverpool’s Latest win over Chelsea

The Carabao Cup, formerly known as the League Cup, is an annual knockout football competition in England organized by the English Football League (EFL). It is the second most prestigious domestic cup competition after the FA Cup. The competition is open to all 92 clubs within the top four tiers of the English football league system.

Liverpool emerged victorious in the latest edition of the Carabao Cup after defeating Chelsea 1-0 in extra time in the 2024 final. This was Liverpool’s record 10th League Cup title. They have now won the competition more times than any other club.

A Brief History of the Carabao Cup

The Carabao Cup was established in 1960 and the first tournament took place in the 1960–61 season. The competition was founded primarily so smaller clubs in England could have a better chance to win a trophy.

In the beginning, the Carabao Cup was sponsored by various companies like Milk Marketing Board, Littlewoods, Rumbelows, Coca-Cola, and Worthington. Since 2018, it has been sponsored by the Thai energy drink company Carabao, hence the current name.

The tournament format has remained mostly unchanged over the years. It is played as a straight knockout tournament with single-leg ties and extra time and penalties if required. Semi-finals used to be two-legged earlier but were also changed to one-off matches from the 2017–18 season onwards.

Most Successful Teams in Carabao Cup History

Liverpool is the most successful club in Carabao Cup history with 10 titles. They won their first League Cup in 1981 by defeating West Ham United in the final. Most recently, Liverpool won the 2024 final against Chelsea.

Manchester City have the second most League Cup wins with 8 titles. They won four consecutive editions between 2018 and 2021 under manager Pep Guardiola.

Manchester United and Aston Villa complete the top four most successful clubs in Carabao Cup history with 6 and 5 titles respectively.

Other clubs with multiple Carabao Cup wins include Chelsea, Nottingham Forest, Tottenham Hotspur, and Arsenal.

Some surprise winners over the years include Oxford United, Luton Town, Swindon Town, and Birmingham City.

Memorable Carabao Cup Finals

There have been many dramatic and memorable Carabao Cup finals over the decades.

In 2019, Manchester City defeated Chelsea on penalties after a goalless draw in the first final to use the video assistant referee (VAR) system.

In 2001, Liverpool completed a historic treble by beating Birmingham City 5-4 on penalties thanks to Gary McAllister’s winning spot-kick.

The 2005 final saw Chelsea come from behind to defeat Liverpool 3–2 after extra time, with the decisive goal coming from Uruguayan striker Diego Forlán.

The 2019 final was also a dramatic affair as Manchester City edged past Chelsea on penalties after a 0–0 draw. The final made history by being the first to use VAR in England.

Records and Statistics

Liverpool legend Ian Rush holds the record for most League Cup final appearances with 5. Rush scored in three of those finals.

Manchester United legend Ryan Giggs made the most consecutive appearances in the Carabao Cup finals with 4 straight between 2006 and 2010.

Former Liverpool and Tottenham goalkeeper Ray Clemence holds the record for most League Cup medals with 5.

Ian Rush also holds the record for most goals scored in League Cup finals with 4.

Liverpool and Chelsea have faced each other in Carabao Cup finals 4 times, more than any other fixture.

Winners By Year

Here is a look at the winning team, runner-up, and score for each Carabao Cup final over the years:

2023Manchester UnitedNewcastle United2-0
2022LiverpoolChelsea0-0 (11-10 pens)
2021Manchester CityTottenham Hotspur1-0
2020Manchester CityAston Villa2-1
2019Manchester CityChelsea0-0 (4-3 pens)
2018Manchester CityArsenal3-0
2017Manchester UnitedSouthampton3-2
2016Manchester CityLiverpool1-1 (3-1 pens)
2015ChelseaTottenham Hotspur2-0
2014Manchester CitySunderland3-1
2013Swansea CityBradford City5-0
2012LiverpoolCardiff City2-2 (3-2 pens)
2011Birmingham CityArsenal2-1
2010Manchester UnitedAston Villa2-1
2009Manchester UnitedAston Villa0-0 (4-3 pens)
2008Tottenham HotspurChelsea2-1
2006Manchester UnitedWigan Athletic4-0
2004MiddlesbroughBolton Wanderers2-1
2003LiverpoolManchester United2-0
2002Blackburn RoversTottenham Hotspur2-1
2001LiverpoolBirmingham City1-1 (5-4 pens)
2000Leicester CityTranmere Rovers2-1
1999Tottenham HotspurLeicester City1-0
1997Leicester CityMiddlesbrough1-0
1996Aston VillaLeeds United3-0
1995LiverpoolBolton Wanderers2-1
1994Aston VillaManchester United3-1
1993ArsenalSheffield Wednesday2-1
1992Manchester UnitedNottingham Forest1-0
1991Sheffield WednesdayManchester United1-0
1990Nottingham ForestOldham Athletic1-0
1989Nottingham ForestLuton Town3-1
1988Luton TownArsenal3-2
1986Oxford UnitedQueens Park Rangers3-0
1985Norwich CitySunderland1-0
1983LiverpoolManchester United2-1
1982LiverpoolTottenham Hotspur3-1
1981LiverpoolWest Ham United2-1
1980Wolverhampton WanderersNottingham Forest1-0
1979Nottingham ForestSouthampton3-2
1978Nottingham ForestLiverpool1-0
1977Aston VillaEverton3-2
1976Manchester CityNewcastle United2-1
1975Aston VillaNorwich City1-0
1974Wolverhampton WanderersManchester City2-1
1973Tottenham HotspurNorwich City1-0
1972Stoke CityChelsea2-1
1971Tottenham HotspurAston Villa2-0
1970Manchester CityWest Bromwich Albion2-1
1969Swindon TownArsenal3-1
1968Leeds UnitedArsenal1-0
1967Queens Park RangersWest Bromwich Albion3-2
1966West Bromwich AlbionWest Ham United5-3 agg
1965ChelseaLeicester City3-2 agg
1964Leicester CityStoke City4-3 agg
1963Birmingham CityAston Villa3-1 agg
1962Norwich CityRochdale4-0 agg
1961Aston VillaRotherham United3-2 agg

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *